Read: Super Sushi Ramen Express

I have been delaying a trip to Japan for more than 5 years. I’ve had many people tell me I’d enjoy myself thoroughly in Japan, but I’ve been putting it off. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to go to Japan, and I know in my heart I will definitely make my way there in my lifetime, but I procrastinate for some reasons unknown. While I’m not physically in Japan, I live vicariously through travelogues and films on Japan and in particularly, Japanese food.

One of the books I recommend is Super Sushi Ramen Express by Michael Booth, a travel and food writer who decided one day to uproot his family for a 3-month trip to Japan to experience the culture and food. 

 

In the 3 months he travelled around Japan and experienced all the food that Japan has to offer; from vegetables in Okinawa that keep centenarians healthy, to graded marbled Kobe beef. This book will open your eyes to the myriad dishes we loosely class as Japanese cuisine and how pride in the produce and food industry in Japan has led to their quality dishes. 

I thoroughly enjoyed this read, and I hope the foodie in you will too. Read this if you enjoyed Jiro Dreams of Sushi (film).

Find a copy at your nearest library or on BookDepository.

Leave a Reply

